Nurses endorse twenty candidates in legislative, local races 


Contact: Sam Fettig
(c) 612-741-0662

Lauren Nielsen
(c) 651-376-9709

Endorsed candidates have pledged to work with nurses on key issues like the Keeping Nurses at the Bedside Act 

(St. Paul) – August 23, 2022 – Nurses of the Minnesota Nurses Association today endorsed 20 additional candidates in races for 2022 elections. These endorsees include 19 running for the Minnesota Legislature, including candidates recognized for their various levels of leadership and partnership with nurses to make progress on issues important to nurses and patients. The endorsements also include Kim Drew, a Registered Nurse and MNA member running for Pipestone County Commissioner in District 2.

This year, key issues for MNA nurses in selecting candidates to endorse for election include support for the Keeping Nurses at the Bedside Act; opposition to the Outsourcing Care Compact; and defense of workers’ collective bargaining rights and opposition to so-called “right-to-work” laws. Nurses will encourage fellow members and the voting public to support those who will put healthcare workers and patients before the profit-seeking policies of healthcare executives.

MNA nurses will encourage fellow nurses and the public to elect endorsed candidates through phone- and text-banking, door-knocking, digital advertisements and more. Following is the list of candidates endorsed by MNA nurses today. Additional information on the MNA endorsement process and on endorsed candidates can be found at

MNA Advocates

  1. Liz Reyer (HD 52A)

MNA Supporters

  1. Omar Fateh (SD 62)

MNA Endorsed

  1. Alicia Kozlowski (HD 8B)
  2. Tami Calhoun (HD 14A)
  3. Kim Hicks (HD 25A)
  4. Ashton Ramsammy (HD 32A)
  5. Susie Strom (HD 36A)
  6. Brion Curran (HD 36B)
  7. Pat Driscoll (HD 41A)
  8. Tina Folch (HD 41B)
  9. Ned Carroll (HD 42A)
  10. Amanda Hemmingsen-Jaeger (HD 47A)
  11. Ethan Cha (HD 47B)
  12. Steve Elkins (HD 49B)
  13. Mary Frances Clardy (HD 53A)
  14. Kristi Pursell (HD 58A)
  15. Kate Luthner (SD 32)
  16. Tou Xiong (SD 44)
  17. Clarice Grabau (SD 58)
  18. Kim Drew (Pipestone County Commission District 2)