MEDIA ADVISORY: Rep. Keith Ellison, NNU’s Jean Ross to Unveil Inclusive Prosperity Act

Ellison and NNU co-President Jean Ross will appear at the US Capitol to introduce the Inclusive Prosperity Act

Media Advisory:
Congressman Keith Ellison

MEDIA ADVISORY: Rep. Keith Ellison to Unveil Inclusive Prosperity Act Outside Capitol

April 16, 2013
Press Contacts
Jeremy Slevin– (202) 225-4755

WASHINGTON –Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN), Co-Chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus and Chief Deputy Whip, will announce the reintroduction of his Inclusive Prosperity Act tomorrow, which adds a tax of a fraction of a percent on transactions done by Wall Street firms and stock traders. In 2011, 40 countries had a similar tax, as did the U.S. until 1966. This tax would reduce harmful financial market speculation, discourage high-volume, high-speed trading, and slow down the proliferation of ever more complex derivatives. The fee would generate nearly $1 trillion in revenue over 10 years, stabilizing our deficit and allowing us to invest in the things that matter—education, roads and bridges, and health care for our seniors and veterans

The bill will be cosponsored by Reps. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Judy Chu (D-CA), John Conyers (D-MI), Barbara Lee (D-CA), James McGovern (D-MA),  and Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC). Ellison will be joined by representatives from a wide range of organizations who have led the campaign for a financial transaction tax, and Members of Congress.


  • Rep. Keith Ellison (MN-05), Chief Deputy Whip and Co-Chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus, Member of Congress
  • Jean Ross, RN, Co-President, National Nurses United,
  • Wallace C. Tuberville, Former Goldman Sachs Investment Banker; Senior Fellow, Demos,
  • Erich Pica, President of Friends of the Earth
  • George Goehl, Executive Director, National People’s Action
  • Jennifer Flynn, Managing Director, HealthGAP

WHAT:                                  Press Conference on Inclusive Prosperity Act
WHERE:                               Elm Tree Area, U.S. House of Representatives
WHEN:                                  Wednesday, April 17, 2012, 10:00 AM EST