Nurses announce 10 new endorsements in 2024 Minnesota State House race


Contact: Amber Smigiel
(c) 651-202-0845

Lauren Bloomquist
(c) 651-376-9709


Nurse endorsements recognize current lawmakers and electoral candidates working to solve the crisis of understaffing and retention, hold corporate healthcare executives accountable and put patients before profits in our hospitals

(St. Paul) – July 8, 2024—Nurses of the Minnesota Nurses Association today announced the endorsement of their latest round of 10 candidates for the Minnesota House. These candidates are recognized for their various levels of leadership and partnership with nurses to make progress on issues important to nurses and patients.

To be endorsed by nurses, candidates must demonstrate commitment to MNA priorities, including solving the crisis of nurse retention and patient care, combatting increased corporatization and consolidation in healthcare, and supporting the rights of all workers seeking a collective voice for dignity and respect in the workplace.

MNA Endorsed Candidates 

MNA Advocates

  • Erin Koegel (HD 39A)
  • Mike Freiberg (HD 43B)
  • Peter Fischer (HD 44A)
  • Mike Howard (HD 51A)
  • Rick Hansen (HD 53B)
  • John Huot (HD 56B)
  • Jamie Long (HD 61B)

MNA Supporters

  • Cheryl Youakim (HD 46B)

MNA Endorsed

  • Jeff Brand (HD 18A)
  • Dwayne Voegeli (HD 26A)

Nurses Care, Nurses Vote
MNA endorsements follow screening sessions where nurses pressed the candidates for their commitment to key issues for nurses and patients. Following screening sessions with the candidates, recommendations for endorsement were approved by the MNA Political Committee and Board of Directors, both comprised of elected nurse members.

MNA nurses will encourage fellow nurses and the public to elect endorsed candidates in 2024 through phone- and text-banking, door-knocking, digital advertisements and more.

MNA will continue screening candidates over the next few months with additional announcements to come. More information on the MNA endorsement process and on endorsed candidates can be found at